Women’s Tribunal on Climate Change – Botswana

Via Flickr:
Calling for climate justice in the lead up to the UNFCCC in Copenhagen, Denmark, the FTF callwed for a series of tribunals on gender and climate change. Tribunals were organized in the global South, taking place in three regions, Africa, Asia and Latin America , in seven countries (Uganda, Nigeria, Botswana, India, Pakistan, Nepal and Brazil) between October and November 2009.

The findings of the seven women’s tribunals on climate change were presented at an event of the United Nations Framework on the Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) and the KlimaForum 2009 in Copenhagen, Denmark.

These pictures document the Women’s tribunal held in Gaborone, Botswana in 2009.

For video documentation of the Botswana tribunal, visit:

Watch "7 Countries, 3 Continents, 1 Call," a montage of the 2009 Women’s Tribunals, here:

To learn more about the International Women’s Tribunals on Gender and Climate Justice, see our Climate Justice blog:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s